Embracing the 21st Century

Indonesia went through a breakdown in 1998 when the economic crisis hit hard and soon followed by a political turmoil that resulted in the end of the New Order Era with Suharto resigned his presidency. I was a university student back then, watching as my friends took over the Parliament building chanting ‘Reformasi’ for all the world to see.

Looking back at those years, I cannot help but noticed that the political change coincided with the end of the 20th century. For me and all my friends from the university, the Y2K and the 21st century marked a new era of freedom of speech that had been long dismissed. We could suddenly create constructive criticisms without fear of being arrested the next day, pursuit the agenda of governance reforms, made some amendments to the constitution, and start a new civilized timeline of freedom over the internet and social media.

So if you ask me if I am proud to become a citizen of this age, I will answer it with a loud YES! Although we have yet to find a fitted form of governance in this young democracy, I am absolutely confident that we are on the right track.

There, I have shown you the activism side of me. 😀

===

This is a response to this Daily Prompt.

Leave a Reply

