A Secret I Never Tell My Parents

I was in the first year of university when I crossed a busy street in a rush for a class. For those of you in South or Southeast Asia, you might be familiar with this: a bustling two-way street without clear road signs & directions, cars & motorbikes occupying the space like they own the kingdom – often bumper-to-bumper in high speed.

I was standing in the middle of street, my feet stepping on the faded road boundaries when suddenly BANG, a car who already was running on the right lane suddenly decided to use the opposite lane to pass by the traffic jam without alarming anybody that it was making a sharp turn. He spotted me wearing a bright yellow shirt but it was too late; the bumper slammed me at the right torso and I rolled for about 10 meters. Luckily he wasn’t speeding.

I was shaken, my mind frantically thought of having another car running over my body while I was still there lying on the street. So I quickly got up, a friend of mine came out of nowhere and helped me to the other side and asked whether I was okay. I was.

The driver that hit me was a nice looking gentleman followed by some people I could see were his family. But I was too scared to talk or do anything so I just said I was okay and turned my back. I was late for an important exam!

I escaped the accident unhurt except probably my pride. It wasn’t until that evening when I started to feel the pain at some muscles perhaps because of the shock. But I never told my parents or anybody about it. Perhaps my mother will read this and now I’m gonna be in trouble.

===

Is there anything most people don’t know about you? Here’s a prompt to help you share.

2 responses to “A Secret I Never Tell My Parents

Leave a Reply

